Developer’s Corner – Mahjongg Dimensions Deluxe: Tiles in Time

Matt Plotecher from Arkadium is a Game Designer for our newest Match 3 game, Mahjongg Dimensions Deluxe: Tiles in Time. Be sure to check out his tips and tricks for WildTangent Players in this week’s Developer’s Corner!

Matt Plotecher – Game Designer

Tell us about yourself and how you got into game development.

I grew up on a steady diet of all types of games: board, card, and video. But, it wasn’t until I went to grad school that I basically fell into game design while studying interactive narratives. I was fortunate to have a chance to network with some great people while I was in school and shortly after I got my MFA, I landed my first job as a Game Designer.

What was your favorite part about creating Mahjongg Dimensions Deluxe: Tiles in Time?

I loved watching the artists bring the game to life. I had brainstormed all sorts of objects and backgrounds for the game, and watching the art team create them was a real treat. Turbopigeons look even cooler than I hoped.

If you had any superpower, what would it be and why?

Invisibility was always a childhood favorite. I also like the idea of teleportation as a way to make my NYC commute time a lot more manageable. These days I think being able to read other people’s minds would be a lot more useful. Especially when we have poker nights at work!

What tips and tricks do you have for WildTangent players who are playing Mahjongg Dimensions Deluxe: Tiles in Time?

  1. Everything is built off of the Speed Chain – the longer you keep it going, the higher the bonus multipliers; not just for regular matches, but for all of the special tiles as well.
  2. When you have Freeze Tiles in a puzzle, they slow time down and make it easier to keep that Speed Chain going. It’s a good idea to use those to give yourself more time to find another match.
  3. Getting through a whole level without ever breaking the chain is always going to get you the best score!

Mahjongg Dimension Deluxe: Tiles in Time features different civilizations throughout history. If you could go back and live in one of these civilizations, which one would it be and why? 

Actually, I would go forward in time, to live in the city of the future. I was a huge fan of space travel as a kid, and to have a chance to live in a world with spaceports, starships, and the aforementioned Turbopigeons, well, you just couldn’t top that.

Play Mahjongg Dimensions Deluxe: Tiles in Time on the WildTangent Games App and follow @PlayWildTangent, @Arkadium and @DMPlots on Twitter!

Lauryl, WildTangent